The Case of the Frijolera T-Shirt
12:38 p.m. - 2004-04-09

I have this t-shirt that I made that says �Frijolera� underneath there is a translation in a smaller font stating: �[beaner].� I made this t-shirt last summer when I was home for the 4th of July. It was in response to the Molotov song �Frijolero.� When I wear it, some people laugh, others scoff, and many tell me its really cool.

So I�m sitting at my work area the other day and Carmen comes over and she�s like, �Hey Georgina?�

�Yeah,� I say.

�Remember how you told me you could make a t-shirt for me if I brought you the paper?�

�Yeah.�

�If I bring it, will you make me a �Frijolera� t-shirt? I want to give it to my Mom for Mother�s Day because she�s always eating beans.�

�Uh, okay.�

What the fuck was I thinking? She caught me off guard when she asked, and I have a hard time saying no on top of that. The more I think about it, the more it pisses me off. I don�t wear my Frijolera t-shirt because I eat beans. I wear it because it means something to me. I�m making a statement. The question now is, will I tell her that there is reasoning behind this shirt? In the meantime, I can hear Carmen�s nerdy snorty laugh as her mother unfolds the white t-shirt with black lettering that reads �Frijolera.�

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com