My Girl
12:21 p.m. - 2004-02-10

The radio station that�s on right now is Sunny 99.9 �soft hits for your workday.� I was sitting here working on a new database, and in the background, I hear �My Girl� being played. I got a little teary eyed. As it happens, that was the song Linette danced with her dad at her 15�era.

As I may have mention before, Linette is the first one in our immediate family to celebrate her 15th birthday in such a way. I always thought it was such a waste of money. But seeing her dancing with her dad and her friends and enjoying herself, it all seems worth it.

She looked beautiful in her white dress and her hair done up in some kind of fancy do�.

If I ever have a daughter, I hope I�m able to give her the option of having a 15�era. I�m sure Dan the Man will not oppose to the idea. He�s the one telling me that when we have kids, I have to promise to teach them how to speak Spanish.

On Saturday, before Linette�s celebration, I went by Wal-Mart to buy socks for my nephew since he couldn�t very well wear white socks with his tux. I also wanted to buy Linette a little cake with something Spongebob on it because she likes Spongebob too. I thought it would look cool there next to her big cake, you know, something special that�s just for her and addresses who she really is. So I�m wearing the ring I have to give her (the ring is part of the tradition, it�s one of the gifts she has to receive) and so I take it off my finger because I don�t want to look like a dork wearing a 15�era ring and I put it in my pocket. Well, I lost it. Fortunately, I found one that took its place. I hope she�s not too mad with me.

Anyway, the whole thing turned out well. I loved meeting my niece�s friends and seeing her enjoy herself so much.

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com