First day of Spring Semester Part 2
12:34 p.m. - 2004-01-22

I forgot to say in my last entry that another thing that gave Lindahl some cool points was that he told use where to look for materials regarding Chaucer in the library. He actually gave us a specific area not the usual �in the library.� I mean, I don�t need anyone to tell me how to do my research since I spend half of my free time there anyway, but it�s nice to know where to start. I could sit here and argue about this because in a sense, as college students, we need to know how to research, but generally, it�s a good thing.

I figure its better to write as the day progresses rather than write things the day after, so I�m keeping a handwritten log in my notebook.

4:03 P.M. 1-21-04

I�m now in the library. I just had my History thru Fiction class. Packard actually lectured on the first day of class. He wanted us to throw out possible genres of fiction, well, he said types of fiction and this included the biography and autobiography which as far a I know it�s not fiction, but that may just be my definition.

Anyway, people were saying the mentioned biography and autobiography and someone else brings up popular fiction and gives the example of science fiction. So after mythology and fantasy are discussed, I say, �what about magical realism?�

The professor�s face becomes that of the student being asked something she doesn�t know about and tries to save himself by saying, �what about it?�

I hear some scattered chuckles at his sarcastic response, so I say, �Well, its very political, yet the political innuendos are hidden so that you have to look deeper.�

At this point he admits to having never considers it and babbles on about some book or other that�s surrealist writing. Could I call that a victory for magical realism?

9:45 P.M. 1-21-04

Later I had Cultural Anthropology and it seems pretty interesting and the professor seems pretty cool.

Anyway, there are other things on my mind right now, like Spring Break. This year, I�m flying out to Wichita to spend nine days and eight nights with Dan the Man. We haven�t seen each other in almost and year and we�ve never spent more than two days together and we�ve never spent any nights together. How is this possible? We met online, so distance has always been a factor in our relationship. It�s been hard, but it�s been good because it allows us other experiences.

We talk on the phone almost every day. However, during the semester, sometimes it gets difficult since I do the awesome duo, work and school, and so I need more time at night for my homework. Tuesday, we weren�t able to talk because he and his parents were going out of town to visit his sisters. We weren�t able to speak until tonight for a little while he was visiting his friend. It turned out to be one of those talks that makes me realize how much I love him. I was really happy to be able to talk to him even if it was foe only a bit.

If a phone call makes me so happy, I can only imagine what it will be like to see him in March.

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com