The Flanera
5:12 p.m. - 2004-01-13

I had to spend most of my workday waiting for Maxine to fix my computer. She had to reload word and access because I couldn�t update my logs of what I sent out and what has been received. She wasn�t able to fix it, shocker!

Anyway, I�m sitting here at my desk waiting for my sister to be ready to go home. I went to workout and so my shirt has this nice big sweat stain on the front and back. I always wanted sweat stains that way people think I�m doing something about the way I look.

Marina invited us to have some flan that she had made in celebration of Elizabeth, the editor�s assistant. As I was sitting across from her, she was explaining to everyone how she makes her flan so that it comes out �soo good� and she�s going on and on about her �flanera� and I�m thinking to myself, �blah blah blah.� The thing that gets to me about her is that she�s got to have all the right cooking tools. I mean yeah, if you need to sift the flour of course it�s nice and dandy to have a sifter or a potato ricer, but don�t make a big deal about it. Then, M�nica just happened to join in and say how in different areas of Mexico the flan recipe is different. It�s just odd to me. It seems so wrong. They who don�t want to sell our books, they who don�t really speak Spanish, they who think I am less because I grew up in a border town and am attending U of H making flan that belongs to people like me is just so wrong! But then again, seeing that as something wrong only makes me as much of a snob as they.

On another note, Linda�s little Lolo is going in for surgery tomorrow. I hope all goes well and that I can swing by with some balloons or something. I wonder if he will be as talkative as he was on Saturday when we helped Linda move into her new digs. He�s so cute; he looked like a little green man in his Oscar the Grouch sleeper. And he was like, �Georgina, come on, let me show you my Pokeman poster. I can�t put it up in my room because it�s not laminated, but my mom is gonna laminate it.� This from a four-year-old. Really how many four year olds know the world lamination?

Ok, time to go home!

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com