The Stolen Car
10:14 a.m. - 2004-08-18

La, la, la. I got a call from a Detective Uphoff (?) yesterday. I wasn�t home so he left a message on the answering machine. He wanted me to call him back so we could talk about my 87 Buick LeSabre, the stolen car. However, his hours are from 7AM to 3 PM and it was almost 7 PM by the time I got home. So this morning, I woke up at the butt crack of dawn and got ready for work because I wanted to get to the office before eight just in case I was told that I could go pick up the car. I shot a glance at the clock and it was 7:34 AM, I thought about calling him right then, but I was still wrapped in my large hunter green towel, naked. I thought it�d be odd talking to this detective while I was in the nude. It�s not like I would tell him, but still, that�s the kind of thing I do with someone I know.

Anyway, when I finally got dressed, I called him and got his voicemail. It turns out he�s not a detective but a sergeant and his last name isn�t Uphoff, it�s something else that I can�t remember right now. I decided I�d call him once I got to the office just in case he still wasn�t there so I could leave the office number and I would be there and the phone tag would come to an end. It�s been a few hours and he still hasn�t returned my call. If he doesn�t answer my call next time, I�m going to call the number on the letter they mailed me. The only reason I�m trying to get this damn car back is because I told Maria Teresa, my Venezuelan grad student friend, that I was going to give her the car if its in decent enough condition. Well, she�ll have to decide for herself.

It was really odd that he said he wanted to �talk� to me about the car. This sort of triggered my imagination. The latest reason for this �talk� is that the car had been stolen from someone else and the VIN number was altered before I had the car. Of course, its very possible that this isn�t true. He might just be calling to tell me I can go pick it up. Or he could have a warrant for my arrest because the car had expired registration and inspection stickers since June of last year.

I guess I�ll find out when I get the nerve to call again.

Later

I called again and the dude didn't answer so I called the number on the letter I was mailed. They told me to call another number and ask for Detective Up-off (that's how the guy enunciated) because he's the one in charge of the case and the only one able to release my car. I called him and left a message because he was away from his desk. He never called. Perhaps he's breaking another case.

It's funny how my car is being held captive by the HPD now.

Much Later

I finally talked to the detective, I can go pick up my car, that's all he wanted to "talk" to me about. Dumbfuck. He also told me that I have to take some paper work to the DPS because "what haaapened" was that my car now has no VIN plate so they're going to put some sticker on the window. Hehehehe, that's nuts man. I need to call Maria Teresa and drink some more wine. Cheers!

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com