Why did you go to college
11:29 a.m. - 2004-11-12

These are some questions posted over @ Loter�a Chicana about why you went to college.

1. When did you know you were going to college?
I think I always knew I was going to college, it was only a matter of where.

2. Who/what influenced most in this decision?
This was mostly due to my sister. She had broken ground in the family, she was the first to go to college and move out on her own. Also, I was encouraged somewhat by my mom after my sister�s success and by my teachers.

3. What role did your parents play?
My mom encouraged me but she wasn�t helping me fill out applications or financial aid forms.

4. What kind of high school did you attend? What kind of resources did they offer?
I attended a pretty good school in El Paso. I think two of the years that I was there, we received a Blue Ribbon Recognition. They offered magnet programs and I was part of the Health Professions Academy. I used to dream of being a shrink�for the money.

5. Who (if anybody) helped you navigate the "search" and "choice" stages of applying to college? (typically begins in junior year).
The Health Professions Academy crew. They would bring in speakers to tell us about the different programs and schools and we also had field trips.

6. Why did you apply to the schools you applied to? Quality? Student makeup? Specific program?
Well, I ended up going to El Paso Community College for two years and that was because it was cheap and I wasn�t getting financial aid and I had been in a summer program that put me a little ahead of the game as opposed to going to the University of Texas at El Paso. I came to the University of Houston because I had to get away from El Paso or I wouldn�t finish, no opportunities for students. Plus, my sister is a professor here and works at the Press so she�s helped me out a lot in regard to what classes to take and scored me a job at the Press.

7. Why did you chose the school you attend?
Opps, it�s all in the last answer.

Gah, all this stuff makes me think about the damn grad school applications. Maybe I�ll answer them in regard to that tomorrow.

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com