Where are you going to grad school?
11:46 p.m. - 2004-11-09

Well then, I didn�t make it to the gym this morning, but I did get a lot of reading done. I�m actually ahead for my borderlands class. Ha! Take that Mr. Fancy Syllabus!

I got hate from one of my classmates today. It was rather interesting. We were discussing this damn article for the class. We�re supposed to present on it next Thursday and so we had a little disagreement about whether we should break it down after it was read. I suggested after and she said, �no,� and then decided it would be a good idea. That was last week, today, they were all complaining how it was hard to understand blah blah blah, so I said I�d discuss the intro because I understood that the author was doing a psychoanalytical reading of the texts and the girl says, �Well, if you do the introduction, you should do the conclusion too because it�s not fair.�

So I reply by saying, �First of all, there is no conclusion, and second of all, there is a whole history of Chicana writing that I think would be worth mentioning. These women were writing a long, long time ago and were not being published because they were not men.�

What did she say? �Oh, yeah.�

That�s right biotch! It�s like she�s trying to shake my foundation, but she doesn�t know that I�m pretty well grounded and she�s not gonna knock me over. Because damn it, I know my Chicano/a writing! People I�ve talked to about this just tell me she�s intimidated by me. *shrugs*

Anyway, my meeting with Maria went well. We talked politics, grad school, politics, GRE, politics, class schedules, school politics, and about killing plants. I�m having dinner with her next Friday and she told me to bring a friend. I�m inviting Maria Teresa cuz I think it would be cool to have those two meet.

I think it�s also worth mentioning that when we finally started talking about grad school, she said, �So where are you going?�

�UTEP.�

�No, where are you going to grad school?�

�UTEP.�

�No, you need to look at UT if you�re doing Literature and Iowa if you want Creative Writing. Don�t go to UTEP. They�re program is too new.�

Maria convinced me to apply to Iowa and Dan the Man said he�d pay the application fees. It�s really cool that she believes in me so much. She read my personal statement and said that it was a great start and gave me a few suggestions that I knew she was going to give. She also told me that I�ve got the prose because my sentences are compelling and draw in the reader. Woohoo! Bonus point for the Gigamonster! Now, it�s just a matter of taking the fucking GRE.

I guess I better type up the rest of my homework. Goodnight ya'll.

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com