What I want
11:15 a.m. - 2004-08-09

I don�t want to be at work today. I want to be at home, or a quiet place, with my notebook and that gel pen I �found� in the key holder thing in my sister�s kitchen. It writes really nice, that�s why I kept it. I don�t want to be filling out stupid vouchers and faxing them and making copies and putting them in Nellie�s box. Instead, I want to fill the white space between the light blue lines on my notebook with words that make up the stories that will be laid out on the 55# stock paper for my first book. That�s what I�m shooting for these days.

I want to take off this stupid bra that is gripping onto the hot pink flesh on my back. It feels like an Indian burn on my back. Instead, I want to be wearing that bleach stained Navy blue t-shirt that I wore to bed last night.

I want to call some Chinese restaurant and have them deliver my food in those white cardboard containers with a silver wire handle. I�ll give the delivery guy a good tip because he got it there really fast and he flirted with me even though I was wearing the t-shirt described earlier and my hair had cow licks because it desperately needed to be cut so I chose not to comb it.

By the time the late afternoon rolls around, I�ll settle in to take a nap in front of the television. I�ll deserve it too because I�ll have written an entire story, so I need to let it rest. After the afternoon news, I�d go back and edit some of the stuff I wrote in Mexico and things I�ve written in the past. It won�t be easy but after reading some pieces several times out loud, I�ll find things to fix.

By the time dinnertime rolls around, I�ll eat some of my left over Chinese and take a shower. I�ll plop in front of the television for another nap but decide I�d rather sleep. Just as I get settled in, Dan the Man walks through the front door. He�d been out of town, reporting on a football game. We hadn�t seen each other in two days. He says he�s fine with eating leftover Chinese and so we sit at the kitchen table. He makes me a cup of hot chai tea while he warms up the leftovers because he doesn�t like to eat things cold like me.

Over his meal, I tell him about the story I wrote and he tells me it sounds great. He tells me about the football game. I don�t tell him I heard him on the radio so that he doesn�t feel like I don�t care, but I mention it to him later.

When he�s done eating, we sit outside on the porch swing watching night take over. He puts his arm around me and I rest my head on his chest. When the mosquitoes begin to feast on my legs, we head inside.

He goes to take a shower as I get into bed and read a little. When he comes out of the shower, we make love and fall asleep next to each other.

back || forth

Getting linked and saying adios - 2005-01-28
What's going on... - 2005-01-26
Fixed - 2005-01-21
Sex ed - 2005-01-19
And still on the same subject - 2005-01-18

Bio
current
archives
profile
cast
book
notes
email
reads
layout
hostess

Reviews
Jason
Sandpaper
our views
clown review
Buzzkill Reviews
Shortireview

THE GIRL
Georgina

LOVES
Writing and Dan the Man

HATES
Screaming children

THE GIRL FEELS

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License. [ Registered ]
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com